Skip to main content

The search for Cristina Besas

It has been 4 YEARS , since I last saw this friend of mine. We've been sending her emails, calling her - but no answer. Then OUT OF THE BLUE: She adds me to her friendster account!! Shirley has been in touch with her just about the same time. Shirley informed her of the planned Christmas dinner tonight 12/22, but the place was not yet decided. Thus - Shirley was supposed to call her to inform her of the venue.

At about 4:55pm, Shirley sent me a text message asking me if I could call up Tintin (her nickname) to inform her of the time and venue of tonight's dinner. Shirley mentioned that one of Tintin's officemate has been making her 'taray', for what reason? Maybe because of the constant calls of Shirley (in her defense, she's been leaving messages but there was no reply, call or any feedback at all! So, I was tasked to call Tintin; (to everyone who knows me, I can be a sweetheart and a bitch - if the situation calls for it) and I was since I called thrice to no avail! On my 4th call, I spoke to her officemate - I was throwing a fit because she told me that Tintin had just left!! I had her transfer me to the guard. I spoke to the guard and he told me that Tintin left about 4 minutes ago! I asked him to transfer me to the guard at the MAIN ENTRANCE (baka-sakali ma-abutan ko) thus, he did - and I spoke to the guard at the Lobby, but all my efforts were futile because the lobby guard said that there was no one loitering at the lobby, everybody has left! Being resourceful (ang yabang ko!) I called Tintin's office again and asked for a number to contact her, ANY number would suffice (since I was told that she didn't have a mobile phone) Her officemate graciously gave me Tintin's dorm's number - which I called and spoke to Nay (short for Nanay) she said that Tintin hasn't arrived yet, but once she does, she will tell her to call Shirley (I left Shirley's mobile number with Nay) - but to no avail again, because we didn't get ANY call, NONE AT ALL.

To Tintin, if in case you browse through this...
WE REALLY MISS YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
MERRY CHRISTMAS AND HOPE THAT WE COULD MEET UP SOON!!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

ANSON SUPERMARKET - Grocery delivery!!

Sharing is caring, so we can't keep it a secret any longer.  THIS is where we get out groceries!  Well, Anson Supermarket has been where we have been purchasing all of our kids' diapers!  From Kailee to Connor to Shobe!  Yes, yes, yes! A week into the lockdown, it just occurred to us that we can get our groceries from them - but then we thought, we didn't want to force them to do it - after all it's a different time now.  But when we asked and they said yes, it was like we won the lottery.  We sent out our list - a very VERY SPECIFIC list and voila after a day or two (we weren't in a rush) they told us to schedule a pick up.  Please remember that I am sharing this with you guys because I believe so much in the saying 'sharing is caring'.  Please be mindful of your language and respect those who will call or message you about your orders.  Also note that some items might NOT be available - so manage your expectations.   They're a ...

#CookingQuest: Winter Melon Soup ala Didi #EnhancedCommunity

One of the things that gets ooohs and aaaahs in a chinese restaurant is the #WinterMelonSoup.   You may ask why?  Well because with this soup, restaurants use the winter melon itself as a huge bowl to serve the soup!  It's a sight to see as you'll be amazed how they were able to pull it off.  You'll see the whole winter melon, and then suddenly they're take out the top part and when you peek in, the soup is inside together with meat bits and other veggies!  My mom has tried it at home, and I remember her being nervous that the winter melon doesn't break apart, kunde sira ang presentation! So during this #EnhancedCommunityQuarantine, I chanced upon Theo's Farm that they have winter melon, so I ordered.  When I saw it - I knew I wouldn't be able to pull off the carving and serving the winter melon.  It actually made the preparation easier.  I had to ask my mom, and she told me to steam the winter melon to soften it.  Honestly, I don't t...

Learning Mandarin, what method is best?

I studied in a sort of Chinese school for 13 years. So that "sort of' means, I SHOULD know how to speak basic Mandarin right? NOT QUITE!! I studied in a Chinese school where we only get less than an hour of Chinese class daily.  When you think about it, well - one hour a day, should be okay - but the problem is, at that time - it was pure memorization.  The books that we used, were those traditional books that I honestly have no idea what is written in them.  I see Chinese characters and they're just that - Chinese characters without meaning, nothing.  It was not practical if you ask me.  The words we were taught were not used in everyday conversation It was only during my 3rd or 4th year of high school that I realized how important knowing how to speak Chinese was.  It was during a trip to the Chinese border from Hong Kong that while I was going around the mall, I was having a hard time communicating with people who looked like me.  I wa...